They call it the Christmas Disease

 

This is a continuation of the series.

December, 2009

Standing in front of a stairway and pondering over what could have ended in a funeral seems creepy.  This time I am home alone with my diary keeping me company.  I would need to rewind so that we can all relive the experience.  Don’t forget – it’s still the season to be jolly.

This time I chose to believe that this Christmas would be a lot different from the rest. Yes, I believe. I believe things  would be better because this time, I am not doing Christmas alone. I am doing this with my best friend, Lisa.

My step mother (Susan) invited one of our neighbours over for a change.  Surprise, I have a step mother.  Sorry I didn’t let you know.

It’s been long.  Not that I kept it a secret but I was so busy that I couldn’t even make time to let you know.

Change is good – it is the only constant thing and the only way to effectively measure progress. At least that is my theory for now.   So, Mrs.Prah (the neighbour) came along with her two children to help make dinner.

It’s good to see everyone happy.  After all, there is no need to use all 43 muscles when you can just use 17 muscles to make you look beautiful.  We (the children) played throughout the time our parents talked in the Living Room.

There is this game called “Jack, where are you?”  It is more like “African-hide-and-seek”.  In this game, one player closes his or her eyes, and the other players go and hide while the one with his or her eyes closed chants – “Jack, where are you?”

The other players respond – “I am here!”  This goes on till the response of the other players fade away.  Then the player whose eyes are closed can now be sure to open them because it is a sign that the others have been sequestered.  And then the search begins.

The neighbour’s children (Nicole and Alan) seemed to be too eager to play the game.  So we made one of them do the searching.  Nicole started first. I literally called her a witch because she found out where everyone was hiding in just five minutes(considering the fact that my house is like a labyrinth).

When it was Lisa’s turn to do the searching,  she almost turned the house upside down by making sure she never missed any nook and cranny even if it meant trying to shift the Christmas tree and having some of our presents roll open before Boxing Day.

When it was my turn to do the searching, it was so easy because I could close my eyes and walk through the hallway without bumping into any wall.  Just that I could not beat Nicole’s five-minute record and it just left me a little disgruntled.

Ordinarily, this could have affected the spirit of the game but thankfully, I had taken my medication so I assured Lisa that everything was under control.

Then, it was Alan’s turn. Alan found everyone but me.  Well, I was hiding in the basement.  Since this was the last player to find, all the others had to join in.  Lisa called this part – ‘Rules, made by the people and for the people’.

So the search was intense because I knew I was giving them a run for their money.  They began to look for me in odd places.  Some looked under cars, in barrels and buckets full of water (Not like I was that small. But the desperation of the game, fanned the determination flame)

The last part of the game took ten whole minutes. The children even went to the living room (where our parents were sitting) and looked under the table for me.

Alan was close to finding me. Just that I found him.

I found him face down on the staircase leading to the basement with a cut on his head.  He told me it was nothing but I insisted on seeing how bad it was.

He told me not to tell his sister.  He said his sister always makes a mountain out of every landslide he has. Remember the phrase – ‘Speak of the Devil?’  Well, his sister (Nicole) found us.

She told me she has always bothered about Alan especially when it has to do with any game that has some degree of boisterousness.  She said we needed to get Alan to the hospital immediately; doing this would require the help of our parents.

Though we did not want to snitch on Alan, we had to do that to save his life.  I decided to stay behind to watch over the house.

I thought Nicole was being too fussy about just a small cut but I was wrong.  The cut was deeper than I thought and so was the situation.I got to know that Alan had Haemophilia B. He lacks a clotting factor known as Factor IX.

He was diagnosed on his 8th day after he bled profusely from circumcision coupled with subsequent evidence of blood in his urine.If his cut was left untreated, he could have bled to death slowly.  Haemophilia B is also known as the Christmas Disease.

Not that it really has anything to do with the season, but it was named after Stephen Christmas who was the first patient to be described with this disease.  Also, the first report of its identification was published in the Christmas edition of the British Medical Journal.

Well, on the brighter side, Alan had a shot of the Christmas factor and was as fit as a fiddle to crossover into the new year.

*

This is a continuation of the series from this author.

CLICK HERE FOR PART 1
CLICK HERE FOR PART 2
CLICK HERE FOR PART 3
CLICK HERE FOR PART 4

The series continues.

#Medicine

3 thoughts on “They call it the Christmas Disease

Leave a Reply

